Appointments are not for DL Renewals or Registration Renewals.

Appointments are available for: Driving Skills Test, Medical Re-exam, Written Exams, CDL Haz-Mat, and Non-US Citizens.

 

Frequently asked questions: How far in advance can customers make appointments?

 

  • 30 calendar days are available for appointments.
  • Each day after midnight another date in the future will open.

  • Dates greater than 30 days will be grayed out until they open.

  • If a date is grayed out it is either completely booked or it is greater than 30 days and has not yet opened up for appointments.

Please do not double book appointments. Multiple appointments will be cancelled. You can only schedule 1 appointment in the system at a time, which must be in your name only. If you need to change an appointment you must cancel the existing appointment first.

 

Please note: Services are limited to Lake County residents only. Your address and name will be verified upon arrival. We regret we will not be able to honor appointments made by non-Lake County residents or in the name of another person.

 

WRITTEN TEST / DRIVING SKILLS (DRIVING TEST) INFO:

Need written testing sooner than what's available? If you are under 18 years old, take written testing from the comfort of your home through a
third party provider. Note: Per Florida Statute 322.56(3)(b) and (e), a customer who takes (and passes) the Class E Knowledge or Skills Exam through an Authorized Third Party Administrator may be randomly selected for a mandatory re-test without prior notice. After a re-test with a passing score is completed in the tax collector office, the driver license will be issued. A failed mandatory re-test will require a re-exam fee be collected at the next exam attempt.

 

Need a Driving Skills (Driving Test) sooner than what's available? Visit a third party provider. The road test is now offered through private providers on weekends, after hours, and during regular business hours (for Class E Road Test). Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for details and restrictions.

 

View the Official Florida Driver's, Commercial, and Motorcycle License Handbooks, available in English and Spanish.

 

Requirements for Teens Obtaining a Florida Learner’s License

 

  • Must provide documents needed to establish proof of identity, proof of social security number and proof of residential address. Please visit flhsmv.gov/WhatToBring for a list of acceptable documents.

Requirements for Teens Obtaining a Florida Driver License

 

  • Must be at least 16 years old;

  • Must hold learner’s license for at least one year (12 months) OR reach age 18, whichever comes first;

  • A parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over 21 years old must complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form, certifying the driver has 50 hours of driving experience, of which 10 hours must be at night. Use this Practice Log Sheet to track driving experience time;

  • NO moving violation convictions for one year from learner’s license date of issuance (OR may have one moving violation as long as adjudication was withheld);

  • Must pass Class E Driving Skills Test;
  • The vehicle used for the driving test must have a valid registration, proof of insurance and pass a basic vehicle inspection that is conducted by the driver license examiner to determine that it is safe for a driving test; and
  • Must provide documents needed to establish proof of identity, proof of Social Security number and proof of residential address if you have not previously provided these documents. Please visit flhsmv.gov/whattobring for a list of acceptable documents.

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) LAWS ­allow teen drivers to safely gain driving experience under lower-risk conditions before obtaining full driving privileges. These laws outline limits and restrictions for new drivers ages 15 through 17. Florida’s GDL laws are designed to help teens gradually and safely build their skills and experience behind the wheel. It is important for teens and their parents to understand these laws and obey them.

 

 

License Type

Hours

Note:

Learner's License

Daylight hours for first three
months after license issued -
until 10 p.m. after three months

o    ALWAYS accompanied by a licensed driver 21+

o    Must hold for a minimum of 12 months or until 18th birthday, whichever comes first.

o    Required 50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night.

Driver's License
16 years old

NOT between 11 p.m. to 6 a.m.

Unless driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21+

Driver's License
17 years old

NOT between 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.

Unless driving to or from work OR accompanied by a licensed driver 21+

 

322.1615(1) – Minimum age of 15 required for learner’s license 

322.161(1)(a) – Minimum duration to hold a learner’s license 

322.05(1) – Minimum age of 16 for Class E license 

322.05(2)(a) – Learner license required for 12 months 

322.05(3) – Required supervised driving for 50 hours, 10 at night 

322.16(2) – Nighttime driving restrictions for 16 

322.16(3) – Nighttime driving restrictions for 17

 

Appointments are not for DL Renewals or Registration Renewals.

Appointments are available for: Driving Skills Test, Medical Re-exam, Written Exams, CDL Haz-Mat, and Non-US Citizens.  

CLICK ON "CREATE AN ACCOUNT" TO GET STARTED MAKING AN APPOINTMENT.




Create an Account
Please create an account to get started


Log In (returning users)
Email
Password
Forgot password?